About Me

 

Does anyone else find it hard to describe themselves? It can’t just be me.

I am 24 years old but a granny at heart. I was born and raised in beautiful Canada, for which I am eternally grateful. My long-time boyfriend Corey and I just bought our first house together in the burbs, where we’re obsessive cat parents to our orange tabby, Peaches.

My day job is in fair trade and I love what I do. Prior to that I worked in a health food store which really opened to a career path I didn’t know I wanted. I graduated from the University of Ottawa in 2015 with a Psychology degree, and although I ended up going a different direction, psychology holds a special place in my heart.

Mental health awareness is something I’m very passionate about.It’s unfathomable to me that there’s so much stigma around something that affects nearly everyone at one time or another. I want to be able to talk openly about my own struggles and encourage others to do the same. My mental health is not my defining characteristic, but one of the many pieces of who I am.

I’m a runner, a reader, and a writer. I’m an animal lover. My idea of a perfect Friday night involves sweat pants, Thai food, and Netflix. I’m a vegetarian, but I am not a preacher. I’m a meditator and truly believe in the power of mindfulness. I also believe in the power of a nice bath and a reality TV marathon. I like to talk, I also like to listen. I believe balance is the key to everything.

Most of all, I am in a work in progress.

This blog is a composite of personal stories, reflections, and insights that come mainly from my own life. My hope is that if I record the things that help me to live a better life, others might be able to do the same.